top of page

Our History

Founding Members

In March of 1983, the North Texas chapter of Romance Writers of America, our original entity, came into official being. The group was organized by June Harvey, Kaye Rose Miller and Floydene White. Additional founding members include Carolyn Williamson, Wanda Raine, Faye Courageous, and Francis Ray. Other early members include Sandra Brown, Katherine Sutcliffe, Sandy Steen, Linda Shaw, Michalann Perry, Jeanne Cullen, Cornell Stewart, and Mary Ben Cretenoid.

Notable Events

Early on, the good ladies of NTRWA established a contest for unpublished works called Great Expectations. The contest was the chapter's chief money maker for decades. Unfortunately, the contest needed to be retired due to the amount of work it required and not enough resources to manage it.

At some point in the late 1980s, the Yellow Rose Award was established to recognize a member who went above and beyond in their service to the organization and their fellow members.

In 2001, North Texas RWA and its sister chapter Dallas Area Romance Authors hosted the first of several joint writers conferences.

Also in 2001, the group began meeting at La Hacienda Ranch Restaurant in Colleyville, and has been meeting there ever since. Prior to La Ha, the organization met at the The Best Western Mid Cities Inn in Hurst just off of East Loop 820.

North Texas's websites have undergone several changes over the course of the organization's existence. By Aug 2003, 2018

In August 2006, we went from a ".com" to a ".org" after issues with the website designer.

In 2013, the chapter created a new contest for published works called The Carolyn Readers Choice Award. It was named in honor of Carolyn Williamson, the only founding member still attending meetings.

In 2022, after a turbulent couple of years for the parent organization (RWA), the members of North Texas RWA voted to disaffiliate from Romance Writers of America and become an independent entity.

bottom of page